Wildlife in your Garden

Happy New year! Here we are in the brand new 2016 and there is much to do and much to learn, and most important of all lots of fun to have.

One of the things I want to do this year is to get an even better idea about all the wild things that live in my garden and I’d like you to join me.

In May every year the world celebrates International Biodiversity Day. Last year in Ireland we were asked to record all the plants and animals in our gardens. I concentrated on wild flowers, trees, butterflies, bees, birds and mammals and got 64 species!

So now it is over to you. Why not go into your garden, or if you don’t have a garden go to your nearest park or green space and find ten different wild things? They could be birds, plants, trees, insects, animals – what ever you want. But they must be wild, so your dog or cat won’t count!

GardenBio_table

 

You can use this form to help you. If you want to print out, right click on your mouse and select “copy image”, then paste into a programme you use such as “word” or paint”.

You may think January is a strange time of year to look for wildlife things but you may be surprised at what you find. Here is my table:

GardenBio_table2

Why not let me know what you find in the comment box below. Have fun!

Leave a comment